The Buffalo Wedding: The One Where We Set Up

The morning of the wedding, you may have confused me with a crazy person. I was running around trying to do every SINGLE thing at once, all by myself. Now, don’t get me wrong, I had plenty of help, as our entire bridal party was staying with us on the property, and most of our parents (and friend’s parents) were nearby and ready and willing to do whatever necessary. It’s just that sometimes all the time I can definitely be one of those “must do everything myself to ensure perfection” people. This was one of those times. And the property is HUGE! I was seriously sweating running around everywhere trying to do everything. I woke up at my usual 6am, made cinnamon rolls for everyone and relaxed for MAYBE 30 minutes. OK, maybe it was half relax/half strategically figure out how to be in two places at once.  After slowly waking up, and having breakfast, the guys were sent to set up the ceremony site. Despite minimal direction from me, they did an excellent job! (Mr. B and I bucked tradition and saw each other most of that morning, but once my hair & makeup was done we stayed away until the first look).IMG_0013

IMG_0035

Mr. B’s Groomsmen setting up the Ceremony Site

As for where I spent most of my time setting up telling people what to do (while still trying to do it all myself), was the Dance hall setting up tables with my Mom. She did such an excellent job at not letting my irrational requests be met with a slap upside the head! I don’t know how she put up with me, but she did; and with the help of some of her awesome friends and Mr. B’s wonderful stepmom the dance hall turned out PERFECTLY. Mr. B and I are both so grateful for all the hard work people put into setting up our wedding so that we wouldn’t have to stress out over it (even though, let’s face it, I did any way). I was so consumed with setting up that I almost forgot to get my hair and makeup done! OK, not really, MOH S and the other bridesmaids wouldn’t let that happen! But I did insist on going last so I could help with as many things as possible. While they were relaxing and getting beautified, I was running around sweating; I definitely had that bridal beauty “glow”.

Once I finally settled down into the makeup chair, I had to let go of being in charge of everyone and trust that they’d do it right.  And it was at that point it started to feel real…we were getting married!

Did you/will you rely on help from friends and family to set up your wedding? Or did you hire a wedding planner to take care of it for you?

Photos Credit Quartiano Photography

 Miss a Buffalo Recap?

The Buffalo Wedding: The One Where Our Weekend Began

The Buffalo Wedding: The One Where We Didn’t Rehearse

Leave a Reply

