Ichthyophobia

Hi, my name is Jennifer and I am an Ichthyophobic. Well, if we’re being completely honest here, I am also clourophobic, but that has absolutely nothing to do with my wedding and honeymoon (unless in some crazy, cruel practical joke someone invites a circus clown to my rehearsal dinner in which case that person would be promptly un-invited). What is Ichthyphobia, you ask? Presuming you haven’t already googled it (I would have), it is an irrational fear of fish. Yes, you read that right, I am incredibly, often irrationally, afraid of fish. I will not go into water where there might be fish, the thought of snorkeling makes me uncomfortable, and the last time I “tried” I had a panic attack. I will not stick my hand into an aquarium (frankly, why anyone would do this is beyond me). Just about the only thing I will do with/near fish, is eat them. I think that stems from a fact that a dead fish can’t bite me (and yes, I do know that fish don’t have teeth).

You may be asking yourself, “Wait, aren’t you going to Maui for your honeymoon?” Why, yes, we are. And yes, I know, a tropical beach-centric honeymoon location that avidly promotes snorkeling as a recreational activity doesn’t really sound like a great fit. But, as I mentioned previously, since the wedding is so heavily influenced by what I want, I wanted to make sure the honeymoon was about what FI wants. So far he has only tried to request bargain with beg me about going snorkeling a few times…and even though the thought makes me more than a little queasy, depending on my blood alcohol content, I told him I may consider it (under my very specific, controlled requirements). UHHHH. Just writing that makes me nauseous, even though I know he would never let anything happen to me (and that includes being touched by a fish, even though he thinks it’s the most ridiculous concern out there).

Is there something that you’ve agreed to considered doing to please your FI? Does just thinking it about it make you nauseous? (like the thought of touching a fish makes me?)

Leave a Reply

