DIY Garters

I previously mentioned that we would be doing a garter & bouquet toss. When it comes to tossing my bouquet it was simple: request the florist to make a smaller toss bouquet version of my actual bouquet. For the garter though? That’s a little bit of a tougher decision, mainly because there are SO MANY OPTIONS. Like it’s borderline ridiculous how many there are to choose from:Colts Garter avysm/ vintage garter whomadethatbow/bow garter lolainlace

bling garter alisabrides/traditional blue WeddingForYou

Trying to pick one from all these gorgeous options became a daunting task, especially when you factor in the fact that all of my favorites were a little bit pricier than I care to admit. But then I decided that I could easily make one myself! So I ordered some stretch lace from etsy shop MaryNotMartha to get me started. I then went to my favorite crafting place, Micheal’s to pick up some pre-made flowers to put on it. Originally, this would have been a complete DIY project since I had planned to also make the fabric flowers. But my laziness overtook me, and I decided to buy them instead. Either way I think my garter came out great! The flowers aren’t flush with the garter, but after thinking about I remembered my dress isn’t form-fitting so that shouldn’t matter, and it really was so simple to make! I think it took me about 30 min, tops!

Here is everything I needed, plus my handy hot glue gun!

First, I cut out a leaf shape from felt, and used the hot glue gun to attach the glass pearls. Then I glued the leaf to the center of the lace.

Then I added the first flower (yes, that is a BURLAP flower!)

Then you add the 2nd flower, and repeat steps 1-3 for my 2nd, smaller toss garter!

My two finished garters side-by-side!

I think they came out pretty good! Yes, the color of the lace is a little off, but I’m the only one who will really see them next to each other, and it’s not enough a difference to matter to me. All in all, it was an easy successful and CHEAP project!

Here is the price breakdown:

3 in lace from MaryNotMartha- 1 yd: $4.95 w/shipping

1 in lace from MaryNotMartha- 3 yd: $2.95 w/shipping

Glass pearls from WalMart: $2.00

1 piece ivory felt: $.33

Burlap Scrapbook Flowers on sale 50%: $3.99 $1.98

Yellow flower from Michaels w/ 40% off coupon: $3.49 $2.10

Had Liquid Stitch and Hot Glue Gun

Total cost of Project: $14.31

Pretty good for getting EXACTLY what I wanted!

Was there a DIY project that you took on because you just couldn’t choose between your many options? Did it help you get what you REALLY wanted?

All photos personal unless otherwise noted

Leave a Reply

